

Minutes of the HITO Special General Meeting held on Monday 22 February 2021 From 11am to 11.15am at HITO, 107 Customhouse Quay, Wellington (and via Zoom video conference)

ATTENDANCE:

Employer Member Attendees:

Nicholas James – Headspace (Christchurch)

Jacqui Victor – True Grit

Maureen Bowring - Haircraft Centre

Craig Stinson - Calibre

Peter Wells - Alibarbers

Louise Gray - Louise Gray Skincare

Anne Millar – Headquarters Hair (Remuera)

Employer Member Attendees (by Zoom):

Greg Murrell - Ryders

Other Attendees:

Elaine Edwards – HITO (Minutes)

Bev Jarvis (NZARH)

Oonagh Wolfkamp (NZARBP)

HITO Attendees:

Kay Nelson CEO

Debra Hawkins GM Stakeholder Engagement

Katherine Hailstone Executive Support

Board Attendees:

Flora Gilkison (Chair)

Louise Gray Jacqui Victor Wayne Smith Peter Wells Craig Stinson Andrew Cobeldick

Apologies for Absence (Proxy Vote Recorded):

Jay Cattanach - Abella Beauty Clinic Limited

Natasha Harris - Alberts Hair Design

Krystle Gallager – Astonish Hair and Beauty

Ria Reihana - Aurum Hairstylists

Amber Forrest – Beauty Antix

Nadia Howard - Bedlam Hair Design and Bliss Day Spa

Christine Delaney - Bella Vita Hairdressing

Grant Bettjeman - Bettjemans

Bindu Grover - Bindu's Beauty Care

Victoria Thrussell – Bliss Hair Salon

Brent Mishkin - Chop Hairdressing

Jill Cole – Clipjoint and Co Hair Design

Michael Petrie - Cuba Barbers

Kim Reed - DNA Hairdressing



Jonathan Khalifa - Hair Hunters

Gowri Periasamy – Hair Ministry

Leanne Pomare - Halo Hair Design

Kelley Antipas – Headstart (Rongotai)

Damian Lawlor - - Hush Hair and Retail

Karl Radel – Klone Hair

Marilyns Marilyn Whelan

Leanne Bennett - Minx Hair Spa

Karen McKay - Miss Fox

Natasha Bird – Mphosis Hair Studio

Mujtaba Al Mansori - One Eighty Barbershop

Philippa Adams - Pure Hair and Body Limited

Amy Copplestone - Revolve Styling

Shoreh Barkhordari - Rodney Wayne Hairdressing (Glenfield Mall)

Julie Evans – Rodney Wayne (Manners St, Northlands, Riccarton, Bayfair)

Anna Thompson – Signature Hair Design

Jodine Andrell - Simply Cuts and Colours

Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke - Spectra Hair Co Limited

Tayla Carpenter - Tayla'd Styling

Sonya Stirrup - The Hair Designers

Maria Bunn - US Hair Studio

Amber McIver - Verdo Parnell

Jayne Nelson - Veronica Jayne

Beverly Lincoln - Victoria Avenue Hairdressers

Amanda Tonge - Wildflower Hairdressing

Hayley Southron - Wicce Salon

Alex Brown - Mr & Mrs Smith

Emily MacPhail - Salon Savoy

Nichola Miti – Reds Hairdressing

Shane Beverage - Muse Salon

David Shields - David Shields Hair

Adele Butler - Zeal Hair Studio

Tammy McEvoy – Head Rush Hair & Beauty

Jill Cole - Clipjoint

Merilyn Kane – Scissortrix

Apologies for Absence: None

1.0 WELCOME, HOUSEKEEPING CONFIRMATION OF ATTENDEES AND APOLOGIES

The Chair formally opened the meeting and welcomed guests and delegates. There were no apologies for absence.

2.0 REMIT – CONSTITUTION CHANGES

The Chair outlined the rationale for the remit. This came about as a result of changes to the Education Act in 2020 changing Industry Training Organisations into Transitional Industry Training Organisations until 31 December 2022 when they would be disestablished. It was proposed that as the current Chair and the Board have the experience and understanding of requirements of the Reform of the Vocational Education (ROVE) then they are best placed govern the organisation through the transition period.



The Chair read out the wording of the relevant clauses in the current Constitution and the proposed new wording. The remit proposed that:

Clause 15.10 b to be added to the Constitution -

15.10b Extension to the Term of Office: The Chairperson role can be extended for a further three years exceeding the maximum three consecutive terms detailed in Clause 15.10 while the legislative changes made in 2020 as part of the Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act 2020 are in place. The Act provides for existing ITOs to be recognised by the Minister as transitional ITOs so that their activities can continue during transition. The extension of the Chair's term of office will be for three years or until the organisation no longer is in existence which ever is the shorter period.

Other elected and appointed Board members who have reached their maximum term of office may by a majority vote of the Board also extend their term of office by a further three years or until the organisation is no longer in existence, which ever is the shorter period. The remit was put by Anne Millar and seconded by Jacqui Victor.

Discussion took place as follows:

A member queried if there was board member rotation proposed? The Chair outlined that the intention was not to lose any of the current Board members and it was confirmed that the whole Board would continue in their roles (including the Chair) – this would be clarified to the membership in communications. The Chair confirmed there would need to be a vote by the Board to fill the board positions. There were three Board positions due for appointment in 2021 and two in 2022.

The SGM resolved to approve the remit, meaning that Clause 15.10b would be added to the existing Constitution.

Moved: Flora Gilkison; Seconded: Jacqui Victor - Carried by a majority.
52 members voted in favour of the motion and two members voted against the motion.

The remit was duly passed and would become part of the Constitution.

3.0 GENERAL BUSINESS

There was no general business. The Chair thanked members for attending.

4.0 CLOSE

The SGM closed at 11.15am.

These minutes are accepted as a true and accurate record of the SGM held on Monday 22 February 2021.

Signed:	
Date:	Dr Flora Gilkison (Chair)